ECPA Awards

2021 call for nominations is now closed.

The European Community Psychology Association (ECPA) confers awards in the four different categories:

  1. The ECPA Lifetime Career Award: The Award is to honour individuals with outstanding, long-term scientific contribution to Community Psychology theory, research, and practice.
  2. The ECPA Young Career Award: This award will recognize individuals for their notable contributions to the field of community psychology and who are within eight years of the award of their Ph.D.
  3. The ECPA Best Doctoral Thesis Award: This Award is to identify the best doctoral thesis on a topic relevant to the field of community psychology completed between January 2018 to December 2020.
  4. The ECPA Contribution to Practice Award: The Award is presented to honour individuals who are making a significant contribution to the field of Community Psychology (e. g., have developed intervention projects in local or virtual communities, which produced a significant impact in the communities).

Procedure rules

  • The prizes are awarded biennially.
  • Nominations and self-nominations are both accepted.
  • Each application should include a 1-2 pages letter describing the nominee’s work and why they are worthy of recognition, as well as the proposer (when applicable) and nominee’s personal data (names, address, and e-mails).
  • Nominations should be sent as e-mail attachments to the ECPA BOARD (at by April 30, 2021; notifications are made in May.
  • We strongly recommend submitting supporting documents, including published papers, books chapters and/or other relevant outputs.
  • For the ECPA Doctoral Thesis Award, please submit a document (max. 5,000 words) summarising the main sections (i.e., state of the art, methodology, results and conclusions), including a summary of the thesis (~300 words) and a brief presentation of the doctoral student (~200 words).
  • Each award is accompanied by the Award Certificate and announcement of the award on the ECPA website.  More benefits for the winners include: free membership for 1 year; free registration for the ECPA conference; public announcement of the nomination at the ECPA conference. 
  • The prizes will be awarded by a Committee, which will include one person from the ECPA Board and at least two invited external experts.